Dedicating 2012 to Cole Porter…

Anyone who knows me and the music I love to sing won’t be surprised if you tell them that I have an immense affection for Cole Porter.  The affair began many years ago.  Love his music…love his lyrics.  What’s not to admire?  The man was nothing short of brilliant when it came to songwriting.  For sometime now I’ve thought that I should do my part and share with the world out there the deliciousness that is and was “Cole Porter” — and for this reason I have decided to spend some time posting lyrics of Mr. Porter’s creation, with the hopes that perhaps you – out there – might dig a little deeper, and enjoy the work of this incredible tunesmith. 

I’ve decided that my first posting of a Cole Porter lyric must be that of I GET A KICK OUT OF YOU.  In an era where it was quite fashionable for the upper set to arrive at the theatre 15 or 20 minutes after the curtain had gone up – so that everyone could get a good look at what you were wearing to the show, Cole positioned this song within the first few minutes of the first scene.  The show was 1934’s Anything Goes, and this composition was regarded as the best in the show:  

My story is much too sad to be told

But practically ev’rything leaves me totally cold

The only exeception I know is the case

When I’m out on a quiet spree

Fighting vainly the old ennui

And I suddenly turn and see

Your fabulous face.

 

I get no kick from champagne.

Mere alcohol doesn’t thrill me at all,

So tell me why should it be true

That I get a kick out of you?

Some get a kick from cocaine.

I’m sure that if I took even one sniff

That would bore me terrific’ly too

Yet I get a kick out of you.

I get a kick ev’ry time I see

You’re standing there beside me

I get a kick though it’s clear to me

You obviously don’t adore me.

I get no kick in a plane

Flying too high with some guy in the sky

Is my idea of nothing to do,

Yet I get a kick out of you.    

One Response to “Dedicating 2012 to Cole Porter…”

  1. Arletta Reith Says:

    Hi, Dean:

    Great post. You see, I am a huge fan of Cole Porter and live just 18 miles from his birthplace of Peru, Ind.
    A few years back, I was privileged to be allowed to help restore Cole’s birthplace, which is an inn.
    During this time I met and became friends with Cole’s descendants.
    I also attended Cole’s Star ceremony on the Walk of Fame in Hollywood. Boy, I love Cole so much that I must have a fix of his music daily.

    Arletta Reith

Leave a Reply

